I’m a big fan of the changing seasons. Fall is my favorite. Cooler weather, changing leaves, apple pies, cider and donuts, pumpkin spice everything.  Staying in on a gloomy day and baking is just what you do in fall. In my mind it’s required. Unfortunately for my mind, I live in a place where there is 300 days of sunshine. Have I ever mentioned how backwards I am? I LOVE gloomy days, and cold snowy days, and cool rainy days. In fact I am convinced that this state is giving me reverse seasonal depression. It has been 89 degrees the past two days. And that makes me SO ANGRY! I just want to wear pants and drink hot tea and bake things with pumpkin spice flavors. I know, poor, poor, baby. For now, I have found my compromise: making granola only requires the oven to be on for 15 minutes and if I do it at 10 pm, we won’t all melt!

I changed the original recipe a bit. Made it a little easier, cheaper, and now it’s Vegan! I didn’t have pecans, but I think it needs a nut for some more crunch. This granola gets clumpy, but it is not crunchy like the other recipe I use.

Happy Baking 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Granola

4 Cups Old Fashioned Oats

1 Cup Pumpkin Seeds (Pepitas!)

1 Cup Pecans (or whatever nut you fancy)

2 Tablespoons Ground Flax Seeds

1/2 Cup Maple Syrup

1/2 Cup Pumpkin Puree

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon each of Cloves, Allspice, and Cardamon

or

Pumpkin Pie Spice , from the store or make your own

1. Preheat Oven to 350

2. In a 9×13 pan: Combine Oats, Flax seed, Pumpkin Seeds

3. In a small saucepan, over medium heat: combine pumpkin puree, maple syrup, and spices

4. Stir constantly, bringing to a boil

5. Remove from heat and add to dry ingredients, mixing completely

6. Bake for 15 minutes

7. Cool on a wire rack, store in an airtight container

Pumpkin Spice Granola

Here is a link to the original recipe:

http://www.thenheathersaid.com/2010/09/13/granola-is-not-scary/

