I am always talking about what Maiya is learning (which by the way, she was/is cutting three teeth not two all at the same time) and I realized that Mason is not getting enough blog fame for what he has been learning. His milestones are very different now. Instead of specific moments of “he can walk”, or “he can say this word” now things just kind of happen and then you realize “Wow, he really knows how to do that now.” So here is what Mason has been up to:

Mason recently learned to play Tag and Hide and Go Seek. He still prefers to play Chase over Tag, but Hide and Go Seek is huge in our house right now. When he hides he is actually pretty good about finding a good spot on his own, but when you go to look for him he just giggles uncontrollably and will totally answer your questions like “Is he behind the couch?” “No!” He always wants Mom or Dad to hide and he looks for us in the funniest places where we never could fit. When we play during the day, I have to hide with Maiya and she is one loud baby-she always gives us away! The best part is that Mason can count to ten flawlessly now. He tries to count to 20, but it always comes out 1-10 and then 11,14,17,4, 15, 20 READY OR NOT HERE I COME!

Mason can open the car door and hop in his seat on his own. He can go pee and wash his hands on his own. He helps me with laundry and almost always will get things for me when I ask him to. He can answer the phone and have a conversation. He can draw trucks with two wheels and a cab and a guy driving. He even knows that two o’s make the oo sound like in food.

still learning...

Mason tells us he loves us now. Every night since he was born I have told him “I love you.” and just recently he has started saying it back on his own. That is about the cutest thing ever! Well this is pretty darn cute too: Randomly throughout the day Mason will say “Mom, I like you.” or “Dad, you are a pretty cool guy.” or “Mmm these pancakes are really good. Thank you for making these for me Mom!”

As cute as that kid is he can be just as mean. He is starting to back talk “No, you go in time-out Mom!” and I can tell him something very simple that he should be expecting because it is part of our everyday routine like “No, you can’t watch a second cartoon because we need to eat breakfast.” and Mason will YELL at me “That is a MEAN idea mom!!!”

But then he says stuff like when Maiya was sick and crying nonstop before bed “Goodnight Mai-Pai. You’ll feel better in the morning.”

He is growing up so fast!

