A couple of days ago I took Mason and Maiya to the grocery store to pick up a few things for dinner. (I made turkey chili, which turned out to be the best chili I have ever made, even without sour cream and shredded cheese and cornbread it was still good! Now is a good time to let everyone know that I have been updating the recipes page. Check it out and let me know if you try anything.) ANYWAY, we went to Safeway (like Kroger) for the first time, and this only being the second time since we have been here that I have been to a “normal” grocery store and not a natural foods market it is like a whole other world to me.  The food is obviously different, but it turns out most of the people are different too. Case in point: So, we are walking from the car to the store and I have Maiya in her carseat in one hand and Mason holding my other hand and I notice that I almost cut off an older couple walking next to us. I said sorry and then they were like “Oh, no that’s ok. We feel sorry for you.” I kind of half-laughed because I didn’t know what the hell they were talking about but was not in the mood to find out, and then I got the lecture “We really do. We survived 3 kids without all of those gadgets. It’s just ridiculous nowadays. It’s no wonder so many people need those chiropractic adjustments now.” So now we have made it to the grocery carts and the guy is staring at me like I’m going to break into a million pieces any second as I put Mason in the back of the cart and Maiya’s carseat in the front and I am fake smiling and trying to figure out what on earth kind of gadget am I using that has this couple so concerned for me and then I realized what it was…..THE CARSEAT! Seriously, I don’t know whats wrong with me falling for all of the hype and buying those darn fancy gadgets that do more harm than good. I saw the couple later on while we were shopping and it took all of my energy not to run up and kick them both in the shins.

Lesson learned: At all costs do not grow up to be old and crabby.

my stupid mom makes me use this stuupid seat!

my stupid mom makes me use this stuupid seat!

saftey first

saftey first

