Tuesday was Maiya’s check-up for her allergy problems. Originally the dr. wanted to see her back in a couple weeks to see if she was improving. If milk protein was the only thing bothering her than she should have been fine or really close to being fine by this appointment. Unfortunately that is not the case. When I started eliminating milk from my diet she seemed to be improving, but after about a week of that she started getting worse-nasty diapers and now she was puking all over me a few times a day. It occurred to me that since getting rid of milk I was adding a lot more soy in my diet. It seemed like every time I had a lot of soy she would have a reaction. So, about 5 days ago I started tracking everything I ate and keeping track of what had soy in it for a couple days and then eliminating everything soy from my diet. Let me tell you, I thought it was going to be hard to give up milk, soy is in EVERYTHING. Seriously, I read somewhere that it is in over 60% of processed foods. When we tookMaiya to her appointment, the Dr. basically agreed with me that it is most likely a soy allergy also. It could still be an allergy to another food, or something else that we just don’t know about, but sinceMaiya is so healthy and not fussy soy is the most likely culprit. Apparently 40% of babies with a milk allergy also have a soy allergy. The Dr. said to try eliminating all foods soy from my diet for about 3 weeks and see how she reacts. When thedr . was telling me this I got the impression that she thought I was a little nuts for wanting to keep breastfeeding. She was very nice about it and just said “Well if you have a lot invested in breastfeeding…just so you know there is always this formula you could try.” This right here is where I realized I am a little nuts and terribly stubborn. You see, I thought I was secretly hoping that when we went to this appointment someone would tell me that’s it, you have to stop breastfeeding and put her on formula. I mean it would make all our lives a lot easier wouldn’t it? I realized when thedr . said “if you have a lot invested” that heck yeah I have a lot invested are you kidding me?!! Breastfeeding (at least for me) is no walk in the park. I won’t go into details in case my brothers happen to be reading this, but for real, if bottle feeding could magically offer every last benefit that breastfeeding does I would do it in a heartbeat, but that is why I am so stubborn. I know thatbreastmilk is the absolute best thing for my baby and if all it takes is changing my diet to keep it that way, then yeah, I have a LOT invested in this whole process and I have to at least try to make this work. Now, if we find out that it really is next to impossible to eliminate soy, or if changing my diet that drastically is affecting her health or my health, then yes, I will consider formula. For now I have to be strong (or nuts) and give it my best. And in the end, every extra day she getsbreastmilk she will be getting all of the benefits that go along with it. So far, it has not been as hard as I thought it would be. We already try to eat as many unprocessed foods as possible-meaning cooking from scratch, fresh fruits and veggies, and processed food that is all natural and with as fewingredients as possible. I am lucky to have two natural foods stores close and shopping there has made this change a lot easier. I went to a Kroger-like grocery store yesterday for a few things and after reading labels and checking out the selection there I realized that it probably would be next to impossible if I was still shopping at that kind of store. There is just too much junk to weed through there. I’m not gonna lie, I have my bad days where I just want to eat a gallon of ice cream and wash it down with some cheese and crackers, and it can even put me in a bad mood because of it (poor Clint, dealing with my food issues!), but in general I feel like we are eating much healthier and haven’t had to sacrifice too much. When this is all over with I think we will still be eating about the same, but I sure will be happy when I can renew my friendship with good ole’ Ben & Jerry.

